Tip #303 – Freezing an Account


Tip #303
Freezing an Account
(New Feature of flowerSoft 2019)

You all should know that if a “house” account does not pay you in a timely fashion,  you can “suspend” that account thus preventing them from making purchases using the ON ACCOUNT method of payment without a supervisor’s password being entered.  They can make purchases using any of the other methods of payment but not with the ON ACCOUNT method of payment.

You can also “clear” an account, which gets rid of all their transaction, and then you can delete the account from your system.  This action has the disadvantage of losing all the history on the account.  It will be as if it never existed.

However, it was brought to my attention that sometimes you don’t want an account to be able to make purchases of any kind, but you also do not want to lose all the history for that account either.
For example, a company may have several corporate accounts with you that employees use (almost as if they were personal accounts) in the course of doing business for the company.  The employee makes the purchases but the company pays for them.

If one of such employees happens to leave the company, they might not want him or her to be able to charge purchases using their corporate account.

For those and similar cases, we now have the option to “freeze” and account.

Freezing an account prevents it from making any purchases using any type of payment.
Literally, the account is “frozen” as far as making purchases is concerned.  Payment on account can still be accepted for “frozen” accounts.

Here is how to “freeze” and account:

freeze01

Bring up the account and hit “F” to display those options.

freeze02

flowerSoft will ask for confirmation.

freeze03

A supervisor’s password will be required.

freeze04

Account is now “frozen”.

freeze05

The next time you bring the account up, flowerSoft will inform you that it is frozen and show you only the options allowed for a “frozen” account.
To “un-freeze” the account, you hit “F” again and enter the supervisor’s password.

freeze06

If someone tries to enter an order using that account number, they will be informed that the account is “frozen” and cannot be used.

freeze07

As stated previously, you will still be able to take payments for “frozen” accounts and any other actions flowerSoft allows except entering a new order using that account number.

If you have any concern about using this new feature, please let me know.

Thanks.

 

Leave a Reply

Please log in using one of these methods to post your comment:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s