Tip #089 – Restricting Account Use


Tip #089
Restricting Account Use

Let me preface this post by saying that although this feature has been part of flowerSoft for many years, not all of you will have it in its present form. Changes to the existing feature came about due to a request from a flowerSoft user that asked for a way to display the names of people who had ordered under accounts not necessarily of their own, like business, schools, associations, etc. I will attempt to deploy it to all of you as soon as possible, so that all of you can make use of it.

We all know or should know, how many things you can do from the “Ordered By” field.
We can look up and update the details of an account by  pressing F6, we can look at the sales history for an account by pressing F8, we can enter a “default” order for an account by pressing F3 + D and we can generate a quick cash & carry order for the customer.
However, a feature the many of you are not aware of is that you can restrict who purchases from an account by pressing the F9 key while in this field.

Suppose you have an a business account where several employees are authorized to place order for the account but not every one that works there is allowed to do so.
It would be very difficult for you and your employees to remember which employees are authorized and which ones are not, without referring to some sort of manual list.
Well, flowerSoft offers you a solution for this problem.  Let me explain how.

First of all, flowerSoft keeps a list of all the names you’ve entered in the “Ordered By” field, except when you just hit the Enter key and make flowerSoft display “Same” in that field, meaning that the account owner is placing the order.  You can access this list by pressing the F9 key while in the “Ordered By” field.  This is a very convenient list to reference when you do not remember the name or spelling of the person placing the order.  For example, let’s say my wife was calling to place an order using my account, but you did not remember her name.  All you have to is, when you get to the “Ordered BY” field is hit F9 and the following pop-up will be displayed:

Notice that both names indicate that a password is not required from either of us to place an order.  This means that the account is not “restricted”.

Let’s say that my son Brian calls you the next day and also places an order using my account.  The next time you get an order from me and you press F9 from the “Ordered By” field, you’ll see this:

This saving of the names who order using my account will continue indefinitely.  So, as you can see, this is a good reference tool.

Now, let’s say that I want to protect my account from being used by my other son Bradley, cousins, nephews, nieces, etc., etc. and I call you an inform you that I will not be paying for any orders not placed by either myself, my wife Marilyn or my son Brian.  How do you protect yourself from someone calling and placing an order using my account, that I did not specifically authorized to use it?

Simple, you can either go to the Manager’s Menu > Client Operations and use option O – Names Authorized to Order and update the names under my account there or you can do it from order entry by pressing the F9 key from the “Ordered By” field.
What you need to do to prevent unauthorized use of my account is enter a password for each one of the names that are authorized.

As you can see from the screen shot above, one of the options flowerSoft gives you is to press U  to update the highlighted record.  Update each record for the account and enter a password.  Make sure it is a password they have given you or you have provided them with because if they cannot provide the password, they will not be able to place an order.

Also note that if after entering the passwords for each account, you press the F9 key to view the names, they will all indicate that a password is required.

The effect this will have when entering future orders for my account is that when the program gets to the “Ordered By” field, the following pop-up will display:

At this point you will have to enter a name and, if the name requires a password, you will have to enter the password associated with that name.

Now let’s see what happens when an incorrect password is entered:

After 3 incorrect password tries, the program will exit.

Now let’s see what happens when a name that is not on the list is entered:

he name Bradley is not on the list so flowerSoft displays the following:

So, if you have received permission from me to allow Bradley to place orders under my account, then you should and answer “Yes” to the question.  If Bradley has not been authorized, answer “No” and flowerSoft will exit.  Let’s answer “Yes” to see what happens in the case.

flowerSoft will then prompt you for a password for Bradley.  Please note that the password is not required.  Once there is one name with a password on the account, the account becomes “restricted” and other names do not need to have a password.  Of course, it is always more secure to have a password for each name, albeit more inconvenient.

In this case, I’m not going to enter a password for Bradley, which means that when the next order is placed under my account, if when flowerSoft asks you to enter a name you enter Bradley, the program will not ask you for a password.  Again, more convenient but less secure.

Now, when we press F9 from the “Ordered By” field, we will see that no password is required for Bradley.

There you have it, a way to restrict account access that is not too complicated and fairly secure, especially if you enter passwords for all the names.

But, you ask, what if an authorized name forgets their password?

Do you see the option to press V to View Details at the bottom of the screen?

When you press V, flowerSoft will display the pop-up shown below:

You still don’t see the password, but if you read the bottom of the screen you will see that there is an option to press P to view the password.

Let’s press P.

flowerSoft is not going to show the password to just anyone, so a supervisor’s password is required.
Once the correct password is entered, flowerSoft will display the password for that name.

That is all there is too it.  I think it is fairly simple but I will be happy to answer any questions you may have on this feature.

Please remember that even if you do not restrict access to any of your accounts, you can still press the F9 key from the “Ordered By” field to see that names that have previously ordered on that account.

Leave a Reply

Please log in using one of these methods to post your comment:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s